Abbreviation dependent on the number of authors

Jun 19, 2011 at 2:21 PM
Edited Jun 19, 2011 at 2:35 PM

Hello everyone. I am new in using BinWord but even so I find it a very useful tool for changing the way you bibliography looks. I have a problem regarding the abrreviation, and I could not find a soution in the previous discussions. So what I would like to do is the following: if there is only one author I would like to have the abrreviation showing the first 3 letters of his name + last 2 digits of the publication year (this I have done succesfully following the instructions from some older post); if there are 2 or more authors I want only the first letter of the name + last 2 digit of publication year.

E.g: 1 person (Mark Musterman - "Title" - 2011) -> [Mus11]

2 or more persons (Mark Musterman, Susan Hamil, Erik Kandel - "Title" - 2005) -> [MHK05]

So far I have created a new namelist where the first author is defined as:  <first_person>{%Last:z%}</first_person> (where z is a new case created to substring the Name field to first 3 letters). The other persons field are defined as: <other_persons>{%Last:au%}</other_persons>. My problem in this approach is that the first person will always be shown with 3 letters and I could not find a way to create a dependency between the No. of Authors and how the abbreviation is shown (something like: if NoAuth<2 then ..([Mus11]).. else..[MHK05]..).

King regards

boga8207

Coordinator
Jun 19, 2011 at 9:59 PM

There is no way to do this directly in BibWord. I would suggest you define a fake list element where the first_person is a predefined string like 'XXXX' and then adjust the template "format-contributors-by-params". For example at the start of the routine you could do something like:

<xsl:choose>
  <xsl:when test="$params/first_person = 'XXXX'">
    <!-- your custom routine -->    
  </xsl:when>
  <xsl:otherwise>
    <!-- original code -->
  </xsl:otherwise>
</xsl:choose> 

Jun 20, 2011 at 1:53 PM