Bugs in Harvard Exeter (FAO Yves Dhondt)

Apr 18, 2010 at 11:09 AM

Hi all,
Firstly, many thanks for this fantastically helpful open source project. I am a a PhD student in the social sciences and am extremely grateful for the BibWord citation styles, especially 'Harvard Exeter', which most closely approximates the referencing requirements of the three UK universities I have studied at. I would just like to draw attention to a couple of minor problems. If these have already been raised or are not resolvable, please excuse my ignorance, this is the first time I have visited the site since I downloaded the styles last October, and I am far from au fait with the technical jargon used in the discussion pages.

1. When citing a chapter in an edited volume, where there is more than one editor, the text in the bibliography should read '(eds.)' (plural) but instead appears as '(ed.)' (singular).
2. When citing a website, the date appears with no spaces, so that 29 March appears as '29March'. I have been adding a space after the '29' in the date field, which corrects this issue in individual cases, but obviously it would be nice if this were globally updated.
3. As far as I can tell, from the three institutions I have attended for my BA, MA and PhD - all of which claim to use a generic 'Harvard' referencing format - it is also the norm that the square brackets containing the date a website was accessed in the bibliography should include 'accessed', so that instead of simply '[29 March 2010]', it should be '[Accessed 29 March 2010]'.